IPE Faculty Awards

Faculty Awards in Support of Interprofessional Education (IPE) encourage and build a community of faculty members across the schools of the University of Maryland, Baltimore and throughout the University System of Maryland who have interest and expertise in interprofessional education. This includes, potentially, national and international IPE activities.

Deadline for priority decision for IPE Faculty Awards is Wednesday, March 27, 2019. Additional applications will be considered on a bi-monthly basis throughout the year in May, July, and September, pending availability of funds.

Download the proposed application template.


Faculty Awards may be used for a variety of endeavors that can include, but are not limited to:

  • Travel to other institutions to study IPE.
  • Regional and national meetings focused on IPE, including poster and podium presentations.
  • Educational products focused on IPE.
  • Other faculty development activities that are inclusive of UMB students from two or more schools.

The funds must be used within a one-year window and any individual is limited to one award per year. Faculty Awards may provide a one-time salary enhancement stipend, if allowed by the UMB School, and appropriate for the proposed activity.

Award Management

All UMB faculty members are eligible to apply for a Faculty Award of up to $2,000 annually. Other faculty from the University System of Maryland require a partner from the UMB faculty and are eligible for up to a $1,000 award.

A two-page proposal, including a budget, should be submitted via email to the Center for Interprofessional Education. Please include a title for the award, along with a description of the proposed activity and its potential to further IPE at UMB.

If you plan to use standardized patients through the Clinical Education and Evaluation Laboratory, please contact the Director, Nancy Budd Culpepper. The co-directors of the Center for Interprofessional Education serve as the award committee.

For any questions or to submit your application, contact Reetta Gach.

2017-2018 Faculty Award Recipients

January 2018

IPE Event: Empowering Students to End the Cycle of Opioid Addiction

  • Mellissa Sager, JD (Law)
  • Kathleen Hoke, JD (Law)

March 2018

Attendance at Nexus Summit 2018

  • Jeffrey Gonzales, PharmD, FCCM, BCPS, BCCP (Pharmacy)

Interprofessional Education and Care for Patients with Periodontal and Systemic Diseases

  • Se-Lim Oh, DMD, MS (Dentistry)
  • Bridgitte Gourley, DNP, CRNP (Nursing)
  • Cynthia Idzik-Starr, DDS (Dentistry)

May 2018

Presentation at the Council of Social Work Education - Navigating Barriers to IPE from Above and Below in Large University Systems: Presentation at the Council on Social Work Education

  • Toby Treem Guerin, JD (Law)

January 2017

IPE Student Event – Empowering Students to End the Cycle of Opioid Addiction

  • Mary Jo Bondy, DHEd, MHS, PA-C (Graduate)

March 2017

The Debriefing Hour: Creating Space within Interprofessional Education to Facilitate and Process Learning

  • Leila Islam, PhD, LCP (Medicine)

May 2017

Presentation at Collaboration Across Borders VI

  • Karen Clark, PhD, RN, CCRN (Nursing-USG)

Legislation and Policy: An innovative Approach to IPE

  • Toby Guerin, JD (Law)
  • Marg Hammersla, PhD, CRNP-A (Nursing)
  • Corey Shdaimah, LL.M, PhD (Social Work)

July 2017

IPE Student Event: Empowering Students to End the Cycle of Opioid Addiction

  • Michelle Tuten, PhD, MSW (Social Work)

September 2017

An Interprofessional Educational Module: HbA1C Tests at Dental Clinics

  • Se-Lim Oh, DMD, MS (Dentistry)
  • Isabel Rambob, DDS (Dentistry)
  • Bridgitte Gourley, DNP, CRNP (Nursing)


November 2017

Medicine and Dentistry – Bridging the Gap Between the Oral Cavity and the Body

  • Sydnee Chavis, DMD (Dentistry)
  • Nina Trocky, DNP, CNE, NE-BC (Nursing)