Steering Committee Roster


Judy Postmus

Judy L. Postmus, PhD, ACSW

School of Social Work

Roger Ward

Roger J. Ward, EdD, JD, MSL, MPA

Provost, Executive Vice President, and Dean of the Graduate School

Committee Members

Joshua Abzug

Joshua Abzug, MD

Associate Professor, Department of Orthopaedics
School of Medicine
Faculty Senate President

Bimbola Akintade

Bimbola Akintade, PhD, MBA, MHA, ACNP-BC, NEA-BC, FAANP

Associate Professor, Department of Organizational Systems and Adult Health
Associate Dean, Master of Science in Nursing Program
School of Nursing

Peter Danchin

Peter Danchin, LLM, JSD

Jacob A. France Professor of Law
Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development
Francis King Carey School of Law

Christina Fenwick

Christina Fenwick

Specialist, Dean’s Office
School of Social Work
Staff Senate Vice President

Nivedita Hegdekar

Nivedita Hegdekar

PhD Candidate, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Program
Graduate School
University Student Government Association President


Laura Kozak, MA

Senior Associate Vice President, Communications and Public Affairs
Office of Communications and Public Affairs

Jon Kucskar

Jon Kucskar, JD

Special Assistant to the President and Assistant Vice President for Enterprise Risk Management
President’s Office

Lisa Lebovitz

Lisa Lebovitz, JD

Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs and Assessment
School of Pharmacy

Flavius Lilly

Flavius Lilly, PhD, MA, MPH

Vice Dean, Graduate School
Vice Provost, Academic and Student Affairs



Mark D. Macek, DDS, DrPH

Professor, Department of Public Health
Assistant Dean for Curriculum Innovation and Scholarship
School of Dentistry

E. John McKee, MA

E. John McKee, MA

Assistant Vice President for Planned Giving and Philanthropy
Office of Philanthropy

Peter Murray

Peter Murray, PhD

Chief Information Officer and Vice President for Information Technology
Center for Information Technology Services

Dennis Paffrath

Dennis Paffrath, MBA

Associate Vice President for Research
Assistant Vice President, Sponsored Programs Administration

Donna Parker

Donna Parker, MD

Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
School of Medicine

Dawn Rhodes

Dawn Rhodes, DBA, MBA

Chief Business and Finance Officer and Vice President
Office of Administration and Finance

Terry Rogers

Terry Rogers, PhD, MS

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Associate Dean for Research Development and Administration
School of Medicine

Wendy Shaia

Wendy Shaia, EdD, MSW

Clinical Associate Professor
Executive Director, Social Work Community Outreach Service
School of Social Work

Emily Smith

Emily Smith

PhD Student, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology Program
Graduate School
Graduate Student Association President

Stephanie Suerth

Stephanie Suerth, MPA

Program Director, Accountability and Compliance Education and Outreach
Office of Accountability and Compliance

M.J. Tooey


Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs
Executive Director, Health Sciences and Human Services Library

Ashley Valis

Ashley Valis, MSW

Executive Director, Strategic Initiatives and Community Engagement
Office of Community Engagement

Planning Process

January — March
  • Review core values
  • Develop strategic plan themes and high-level strategic outcomes informed by:
    • UMB mission, vision, and core values
    • President’s goals, University System of Maryland goals, current strategic planning goals, Maryland Higher Education Commission, and others
    • Involve deans, vice presidents, shared governance councils, and others
April — May
  • Universitywide feedback/input sessions on themes and outcomes
  • Revise and refine themes and outcomes
  • Draft plan
Mid-May — June
  • Finalize and adopt plan
  • Design implementation plan


Committee Composition 

Steering Committee — 20 Members
  • All seven schools represented
  • Central administration
  • Faculty Senate
  • Staff Senate
  • Student government associations
  • Eight faculty members
  • 10 staff members
  • Two students
Logistics Committee — Nine Members
  • Administration and Finance
  • Center for Information Technology Services
  • Communications and Public Affairs
  • Institutional Effectiveness, Strategic Planning, and Assessment
  • President’s Office
  • Research and Development
  • School of Social Work
Roles and Responsibilities

Develop a plan that is objective and action-oriented to direct, anchor, and define UMB for the next five years.

  • Develop and recommend to UMB’s executive leadership the strategic themes and goals that will form the core of the 2022-2026 plan.
  • Engage our faculty, staff, students, partners, and communities in a transparent process to receive input and feedback on the strategic themes and goals.

Suggest ways in which members of the University community can play an active role in monitoring and assessing the effectiveness of the plan’s implementation over the next five years.