• 2019 MLK Diversity Recognition Award Nominations

    The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Diversity Recognition Award honors an individual or group achievements in the areas of diversity and inclusiveness. Click here to learn more and submit your nomination for this prestigious award by November 21st, 2018. 

  • World Aids Day

    A worldwide day of recognition of the people impacted by HIV and the progress in HIV treatment and prevention.

  • UMB Diversity and Inclusion Initiatives

    Providing a unique setting for broad social, cultural, recreational, and educational programming.

    Check out a diversity event on campus this month.

  • President Perman's Statement on Trump's Decision to end DACA

    President Perman calls for action to fight the termination of DACA.

  • USM Response to DACA Termination

    Read the letter from Chancellor Robert L. Caret to the Maryland congressional delegation regarding support for DACA.

  • UMB Condemns Hate Groups' Violence in Virginia

    UMB President Jay A. Perman, MD, denounced the hatred that led to deadly violence in Charlottesville, Va., on Aug. 12, 2017.

The mission of UMB’s Diversity Advisory Council (DAC) is to provide recommendations to the president that promote the University’s commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion.  

The DAC will seek to fulfill its mission through the following goals:

• Identify opportunities within and outside the University that enhance training and professional development in valuing diversity and cultural competency.

• Recommend opportunities to improve standards, practices, and procedures to create a University culture of inclusion and equity.

• Recognize exemplary practices, programs, and individuals that embody a commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

• Ensure that the achievement of diversity, equity, and inclusion are guiding principles in every aspect of the University’s initiatives.


2018 MLK Diversity Award Winners

Visit the 2018 MLK Diversity Award Winners webpage to read full stories about this year's award recipients.