Board of Trustees

The University of Maryland Baltimore Foundation, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) public charity established to receive, manage, and invest private gifts and/or property on behalf of and for the benefit of the University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB); facilitate fundraising programs; and engage in other activities to advance the educational, research, clinical and service missions of UMB. The Board of Trustees (Board) is comprised of influential and committed individuals who are dedicated to pursuing the mission of UMB. The continued success of UMB depends on the voluntary commitment of the elected Board who affirm the privilege to serve and the responsibility to lead. To enhance the momentum of the University, each member of the Board is expected to be a vigorous advocate and a proactive communicator of UMBF’s mission and to assist in philanthropy-related activities for UMB.

Board of Trustees

Harry C. Knipp, MD, FACR 

Ellen H. Yankellow, PharmD 
Vice Chair

John C. Weiss III

Anthony P. Ashton, Esq.

Megan Bailey

Pete Buzy

Scott Canuel, CFA, CFP

Mary E. Caskey

Harold E. Chappelear

Charles Chen, DDS

Charles W. Cole Jr.

Steve Dubin, JD

Mareco Edwards

Tisha S. Edwards, MSW, JD

Jennifer O. Estabrook, JD, MBA

Patricia S. Florestano, PhD

Carolyn B. Frenkil

Barry L. Garber, MBA

Brian J. Gibbons, JD

Emerson “Randy” Hall Jr., PhD

Joseph R. Hardiman

Alvin D. Katz,CPA

Sam Lennon

Ray Lewis

Aris Melissaratos

Samantha Mellerson

Michael E. Muldowney

Damien Myers, MD

Todd L. Parchman

Nikos Pavlidis

Malinda Peeples

Nneka Rimmer

Alan J. Silverstone

Frederick G. Smith, DDS

C. William Struever

Richard L. Taylor, MD, FAAN

Mei Xu

Trustees Emeriti

Edward J. Brody

Marco A. Chacón, PhD

James A. Earl, PhD

Morton P. Fisher Jr., Esq.

Richard J. Himelfarb

Wallace J. Hoff

Kempton M. Ingersol

Kyle P. Legg

Thomas P. O’Neill

Hon. Janet S. Owens

Theo C. Rodgers, MBA

William T. Wood, Esq.

Ex-Officio Members

Bruce E. Jarrell, MD
President, University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB)

Roger J. Ward, EdD, JD, MSL, MPA
Executive Vice President
Dean of the Graduate School

James L. Hughes, MBA
Senior Vice President and Chief Enterprise and Economic Development Officer

Interim Chief Philanthropy Officer
Interim President, UMB Foundation, Inc. 

Pam Heckler
Treasurer and Chief Operating Officer, UMBF

Legal Counsel

Jordan I. Bailowitz, Esq.
Partner, DLA Piper


Pam Heckler

Kate Ostrowski