Steering Committee and Working Groups

The Self-Study Steering Committee will examine existing data, develop research questions, gather new information, and prepare the self-study report. Through the self-study process, the University will be asked to engage in a meaningful discussion about potential improvements in programs and services.


Roger J. Ward, EdD, JD, MSL, MPA

Provost and Executive Vice President

Dean, Graduate School 

Mark Reynolds, DDS PhD, MA

Dean, School of Dentistry

USM Board of Regent Designees

Gary L. Attman, JD

Vice Chair, Board of Regents, University System of Maryland

William T. Wood, JD

Assistant Treasurer, Board of Regents


Peter Murray, PhD

Senior Vice President for Information Technology
and Chief Information Officer

Center for Information Technology Services


Kevin Donegan, MBA, FCCA

Assistant Vice President, Budget and Financial Analysis

Administration and Finance


Diane Forbes Berthoud, PhD, MA

Vice President and Chief Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Officer

Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion


Jenny Owens, ScD, MS

Associate Dean of Academic Affairs

Executive Director, Graduate Research Innovation District (The Grid)

University of Maryland Graduate School


Patty Alvarez, PhD, MS

Chief Student Affairs Officer/Associate Vice President of Student Affairs

Office of the Provost


Mark Macek, DDS, DrPH

Assistant Dean for Curriculum Innovation and Scholarship

Professor, Department of Dental Public Health

Director, Office of Instructional Evaluation

University of Maryland School of Dentistry


Barbara Gontrum, JD, MLS

Professor Emerita

University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law


Richard Dalby PhD, BPharm

Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy


Vanessa Harrington, MS, SHRM-CP

Director of Security and Compliance

University of Maryland, Baltimore Police Department


Jill Frankenfield, MSL, MS

Associate Vice President

Sponsored Programs Administration


Jacqueline Sullivan

MS Student, Physician Assistant Program

University of Maryland Graduate School

Alexa Mayo, MLIS, AHIP

Interim Dean

Associate Director, Services

Health Sciences and Human Services Library


Susan Buskirk, DM, MS, CCEP

Vice President

Chief Accountability Officer

Office of Accountability and Compliance


Monica Maggiano

Director of Leadership Communications

Office of the President


Jon Kucskar, JD

Special Assistant to the President

Assistant Vice President for Enterprise Risk Management


Bill Joyner, JD, MSW

Assistant Vice President

Office of Community Engagement


Andy Malinow, MD

Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

University of Maryland School of Medicine


Lynn Chen, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Organizational Systems and Adult Health

Director of Evaluation

University of Maryland School of Nursing


Cherita Adams, MBA, MS

Assistant Dean for Administration and Strategic Initiatives

University of Maryland School of Social Work


Gregory C. Spengler, MPA

Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness


Susan Antol, PhD, MS, RN

Assistant Professor, Partnerships, Professional Education, and Practice

University of Maryland School of Nursing

Senator, Faculty Senate


Gregory Brightbill, EdD

Associate Director, Student Leadership & Involvement

Campus Life Services

President, Staff Senate