Cherokee Layson-Wolf

Cherokee Layson-Wolf bio picCherokee Layson-Wolf, PharmD, BCACP, FAPhA, is an associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science and Associate Dean of Student Affairs at the University of Maryland, School of Pharmacy. She has been a faculty member for 19 years and is currently serving in her 6th year as Associate Dean. In her role in Student Affairs, she is responsible for overseeing recruitment and admissions, student success and progression, advising, student progression and graduation. Dr. Layson-Wolf’s major areas of interest are student development and success, community pharmacy, self-care and pharmacy-based immunization delivery. Her patient care practice includes the Maryland Patients Pharmacists Partnership (P3) program, an award-winning employer-based health education and chronic disease self-management program in which trained pharmacist-coaches provide guidance in medication adherence, lifestyle changes, and self-care skills to patients with diabetes. She teaches in the PharmD curriculum, specifically in self-care, and in electives in effective communication and community pharmacy. She serves as the co-advisor for the Student Government Association and the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists chapter. She received the Young Pharmacist of the Year award in 2005, the Innovative Practice Award in 2010 and the Mentor Award in 2015 from the Maryland Pharmacists Association, and was named a fellow of the American Pharmacists Association in 2012, received the APhA Community Residency Preceptor of the Year award in 2015, and was selected APhA-ASP Chapter Advisor of the Year in 2016. She was recognized by the University of Maryland Baltimore as a Champion of Excellence in 2017, and was honored as the Immunization Champion Individual Achievement Runner Up by the American Pharmacists Association in 2019.