Awards and Recognition

What We're Working On

The Awards and Recognition team is responsible for curating, promoting, and (when appropriate) nominating UMB faculty for school, institution, system, and regional/national awards. This team will also be responsible for determining criteria and processes for the annual presentation of the LEAPS Distinguished Educator Awards.

2023-2024 LEAPS Distinguished Educator Awards 


The LEAPS Distinguished Educator Awards are designed to recognize exceptional teaching, mentoring, and educational scholarship activities of UMB faculty members, preceptors, and mentors. Note: LEAPS Steering Committee members may not self-nominate, but can be nominated by others.

Award Categories 

  • LEAPS Distinguished Educator for Outstanding Mentor 
  • LEAPS Distinguished Educator for Outstanding Preceptor 
  • LEAPS Distinguished Educator for Outstanding Educational Scholarship/Publication 
  • LEAPS Distinguished Educator Award for Excellence in Teaching

Timeline and Nomination Process 

Nominations will be open from November 1, 2023, through March 1, 2024.  

Criteria and submission information for each award is found in the PDF found under “Resources.” Self-nominations are accepted for all awards. 

Nominations and the requested supporting documentation should be emailed to per the instructions provided in the PDF document below. 

Awardees will be announced and celebrated at the LEAPS Symposium on Tuesday, April 2, 2024.  

Our Team

  • Chad Johnson, PhD, School of Pharmacy (Chair)
  • Jana Goodwin, PhD, RN, CNE, School of Nursing
  • Linda Horn, PT, DScPT, MHS, School of Medicine
  • Rick Matteson, PhD, School of Medicine
  • Jenny Owens, ScD, MS, Graduate School
  • Temeka Parker, MSW, School of Social Work
  • Charmaine Rochester, PharmD, CDE, BCACP, School of Pharmacy
  • Ahmed Sultan, BDS, PhD, School of Dentistry