Presidential Core Values Award Winners

May 21, 2020

To the UMB Community:

I am pleased to announce the recipients of the inaugural Presidential Core Values Awards. The University of Maryland, Baltimore's (UMB) Core Values Awards recognize faculty, staff, and students who exemplify UMB's core values: accountability, civility, collaboration, diversity, excellence, knowledge, and leadership.

Individuals and/or teams who demonstrate outstanding contributions to the UMB community through the exemplary incorporation of one of the core values were nominated for an action, special project or initiative, exemplary service, or achievement that occurred during calendar year 2019. The Core Values Awards Selection Committee judged how the nominee integrated the core value into their particular team and their duties, studies, and activities at UMB.

Core Values Award for Accountability
Financial Services Payroll Team
Administration and Finance

Core Values Award for Civility
Al Essien
Associate Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations

Core Values Award for Collaboration
Rose M. Viscardi, MD
Professor, Pediatrics, School of Medicine

Core Values Award for Diversity
Elizabeth Alston Ottey, DDS, MHS
Third-Year resident, School of Dentistry

Core Values Award for Excellence
Kathleen Hoke, JD
Professor, Francis King Carey School of Law

Core Values Award for Knowledge
Joe Evans
Assistant Vice President, Strategic Sourcing and Acquisition Services

Core Values Award for Leadership
Kaitlyn Holzer
Third-Year Student, Francis King Carey School of Law

Thank you to members of the Core Values Awards Selection Committee for their efforts in selecting these extraordinary examples of UMB living out its core values.

I am so grateful to be able to highlight these remarkable colleagues and their dedication to the University's core values. I offer each winner my heartfelt thanks and congratulations.

To more learn more about these Presidential Core Values Awards recipients, as well as those who received honorable mention, visit here.


Bruce E. Jarrell, MD, FACS
Interim President

Back to 2019-2020