Committees and Liaisons

The Staff Senate has a number of subcommittees that work on issues that affect UMB staff.

Senate Committees

Board of Regents Staff Awards

This committee works with the President's office to facilitate the nomination process and review all nominations for the Board of Regents Staff Awards from UMB.




The Communications Committee creates and maintains communications for the Staff Senate — our presence and involvement on-campus and opportunities for staff. We work to establish and increase awareness of the Staff Senate's role to speak out for and impact staff-related concerns and issues. The channels we have established include: producing materials with the Staff Senate, tabling at fairs, maintaining a social media presence, and contributing to The Elm and the Common Calendar.

Chair: Hillary Edwards


Community Outreach

The Community Outreach Committee contributes to and coordinates events related to improving the welfare of individuals in the local Baltimore community, including fundraising for local charities or volunteer work. We liaise with the UMB Community Engagement Center for events, activities, and important information. Our outreach efforts include collecting school supplies for local schools and toiletries and toys for homeless shelters.

Chair: Lois Warner


Council of University System Staff

The mission of the Council of University System Staff (CUSS) is to provide a voice for staff and employee concerns in reference to basic decisions that affect the welfare of the University System of Maryland (USM), its constituent institutions, and its employees. CUSS functions in an informed advisory role in administrative areas and in the functional support aspects of academic matters.

Terms begin in August.

Representatives: Colette Beaulieu, (2018-2019), Susan Holt (2017-2019), Nichole Miskimon (2018-2020)

Alternates:  Janet Nance-Richardson (2018-2019), Christina Fenwick (2018-2019), Sarah Hokenmaier (2018-2019)

As of August 1, 2019

Representatives: Colette Beaulieu, (2019-2021), Susan Holt (2017-2019), Jenn Volberding (2019-2021)

Ayamba Ayuk-Brown (2019-2020), Casey Jackson (2019-2021), LaToya Lewis (2019-2020)



The Policy/Legislation Committee oversees the review of Staff Senate bylaws to make sure they are consistent to Robert's Rules of Order and serve the best needs of the Staff Senate as an organization. Responsible for tracking all bills, proposals within the state or federal government that may impact staff of UMB. Serve or liaise with UMB CUSS representatives and align priorities across USM and UMB specifically.

Chair: Nicole Miskimon


University Life

Address issues that affect staff and their day-to-day life at UMB, such as affordable day care, leave donation, professional development, timekeeping, and staff recognition. Participate in Universitywide committees as representatives of the Staff Senate and all staff. Assess and recommend opportunities for advancement with Campus Climate Survey and others. Plan, execute, and promote Staff Senate activities across campus, including meet-and-greets, network activities, and professional development opportunities.



Campus Committee Liaisons

Members of the Staff Senate have been appointed by the Senate to act as liaisons to the following Universitywide committees:

Office of Community Engagement Advisory Network (OCEAN)

Liaison: Lois Warner

Faculty Senate

Liaison: Kristy Novak


Liaison: Susan Holt

President's Diversity Council

Liaison: Christina Fenwick

Communications Council

Liaison: Hillary Edwards

HR Working Group

Liaison: Mary Beth Gallico

Safety Awareness

This liasion acts as the voice of the UMB staff, contributing recommendations or comments.


Arts and Culture Council

Liaison: Colette Beaulieu

Funding Model Working Group

Liaison: Sharese Essien

HR Climate Survey

Liaisons: Kaya Smith, Nicole Miskimon