Diversity Advisory Council

2021 DAC About Us Banner

Member Roles and Responsibilities

Members-at-Large of the DAC shall consist of designated representatives from constituent schools, shared governance bodies, and central administration of UMB. Each of the seven schools may designate up to two (2) employees (at least one (1) faculty member and one (1) staff member) to serve as members of the DAC.  

In addition to the 14 faculty and staff members representing each school, membership will include: at least seven (7) staff members, including central administration; one (1) postdoctoral fellow; based on funds, one (1) Diversity fellow; two (2) members from shared governance bodies (Faculty Senate and Staff Senate); and two (2) students.  

Member Responsibilities:

  • Actively participate in activities and programs of the DAC
  • Attend at least eight monthly meetings per academic year (which includes no more than two attendances via teleconference and no more than two absences)  
  • Serve on at least one standing committee  
  • Maintain visibility of the work of the DAC among employees of their respective school or organization and the community  
  • Serve as their school, governance bodies, or central administration liaison
  • Serve as advocates for and champions of diversity, equity, and inclusion in their respective schools, shared governance, and central administration.  
  • Serve as a channel for communicating diversity-related news and information to faculty, staff, and students in their respective school, shared governance, and central administration.  
  • Maintain meaningful dialogues with respective schools, shared governance, or central administration and report concerns at DAC meetings.

2021-2022 Council Members*

*DAC council members for 2022-2023 will be finalized during the Fall 2022 semester

Patricia Alvarez

Patty Alvarez, PHD, MS

Chair, Diversity Advisory Council

Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs

Jeffrey Ash

Jeffrey Ash, EdD

Associate Dean, Diversity and Inclusion
Assistant Professor
School of Nursing

Hadley Bryan

Hadley Bryan

Fifth-Year PhD Candidate, Graduate Program in Life Sciences Human Genetics Program
Lab Technician for Megan Rizzo, PhD

Gregory A. Brightbill

Gregory A. Brightbill, MBA, MEd

Associate Director, Student Leadership and Involvement, Intercultural Leadership and Engagement

Staff Senate Representative

Glenn Canares

Glenn Canares, DDS, MSD

Clinical Assistant Professor, Division of Pediatric Dentistry,
School of Dentistry

Vanessa Carroll

Vanessa Carroll, MS

Special Assistant to the Dean, School of Dentistry

Hershaw Davis Jr., MSN, RN

Hershaw Davis Jr., MSN, RN

Clinical Faculty Member, Department of Organizational Systems and Adult Health, School of Nursing

Neijma Celestine-Donnor - Thumbnail

Neijma Celestine-Donnor, MSW ’09

Assistant Dean for Diversity Equity, and Inclusion, School of Social Work

Anna-Marie C. Epps, MS

Anna-Marie C. Epps, MS

Administrative program specialist, Health Sciences and Human Services Library (HSHSL), co-chair of the HSHSL’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Eleanor Fleming Thumbnail

Eleanor Fleming, PhD, DDS, MPH, FICD

Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, School of Dentistry

Shani Fleming, MSHS, MPH, PA-C

Shani Fleming, MSHS, MPH, PA-C

Associate Professor, Physician Assistant Leadership and Learning Academy, Graduate School

Vicky Godinez Mandara

Vicky Godinez Mandara, MS

Assitant Director of Admissions, Francis King Carey School of Law

Paulette Harris-Gross

Paulette Harris-Gross, MS

Senior Community Program Specialist, Office of the President

Cheri Hendrix

Cheri Hendrix, DHEd, MSBME, PA-C, DFAAPA

Assistant Dean for Physician Assistant Education, Program Director, and Associate Professor, UMB/Anne Arundel Community College Collaborative Physician Assistant Program

Matthew Johnson thumbnail

Lieutenant Matthew Johnson

Commander of the UMB Police Department Community Outreach and Support Team

CJJC - Thumb

Courtney J. Jones Carney, DPA, MBA

Executive Director, Intercultural Leadership and Engagement, and Director, Intercultural Center

Jazmin Jones

Jazmin Jones

Student Representative

Laura Kozak, MA

Senior Associate Vice President, Communications and Public Affairs

Kyla Ligget

Kyla Liggett-Creel, PHD, MSW

Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Social Work 

Karen D Matthews

Karen D. Matthews, DM, MPA

Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment, Institutional Effectiveness, Strategic Planning, and Assessment Unit

Russel McClain

Russell McClain, JD

Associate Professor
Associate Dean, Diversity and Inclusion
Director, Academic Achievement Program
Francis King Carey School of Law

Will Moon, JD

Associate Professor of Law, Francis King Carey School of Law

Jill Morgan

Jill Morgan, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS

Vice Chair, Diversity Advisory Council

Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, School of Pharmacy

Ava Norris

Ava Norris

Executive Administrative Manager, School of Pharmacy Dean’s Suite

Nicole K. Palmore, MSW

Nicole K. Palmore, MSW

Director of Diversity, Inclusion, and Intercultural Learning, School of Nursing

Sandra M. Quezada

Sandra Quezada, MD, MS

Associate Dean, Admissions
Assistant Dean, Academic and Multicultural Affairs
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine


Kristin Reavis, MD, MBS

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine, School of Medicine

Gabrielle Ricks

Gabrielle Ricks

Academic Program Coordinator, Physician Assistant Leadership and Learning Academy, Graduate School

Fiama Romero

Fiama Romero

Program Management Specialist, Office of Student Research, School of Medicine

Tyrone Roper, MSW - Thumb

Tyrone “Ty” Roper, MSW

Director, Community Engagement Center

Nia Speaks

Nia Speaks

Program Manager, Social Work Community Outreach Service, School of Social Work

Elsie M. Stines

Elsie M. Stines, DNP, CRNP

Assistant Vice President, Special Projects and Initiatives, Office of the President
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, University of Maryland Children's Hospital

Roger Ward

Roger J. Ward, EdD, JD, MLS, MPA

Provost, Executive Vice President,
and Dean, Graduate School