Donor Appreciation Header

Catalyst | A person who causes action | An agent of change | A stimulus, spark, or incitement | You and UMB

Since 1807, the University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) has been a catalyst, promoting social justice, improving health, and serving the public good of Maryland and the region.

You Made It Happen

To all the individuals, businesses, foundations, and organizations that gave to the Catalyst Campaign, the University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) extends its heartfelt gratitude.

With your generous support and commitment to UMB’s collective pursuit of excellence and leadership as a top-tier public research institution, we exceeded the campaign’s groundbreaking $750 million fundraising goal. We couldn’t have done it without you. Thank you!

You & UMB. Imagine what we will change together.

Thanks to the generous support of our donors, the Catalyst Campaign, UMB’s most ambitious campaign to date, exceeded its $750 million goal.

Catalyst Campaign Donors

$10 Million And Above

Anonymous (2) (SOP, UMB)

Associated Black Charities (SOD, SOM, UMB)

Bedford Falls Foundation Charitable Trust (SON)

W.P. Carey Foundation (SOL)

Catholic Relief Services (SOM)

Robert E. Fischell, ScD, and Susan Fischell (SOM)

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (SOM)

Maryland E-Nnovation Initiative Fund Authority (SOD, SOM, SSW)


University of Maryland Medical System (SOM, SON, UMB)

Whiting-Turner Contracting Company (SOM, SSW, GS, UMB)

$5,000,000 – $9, 999,999

Anonymous (1) (SOM)

The Alicia and Yaya Foundation (GS, SOM, SON, UMB)

American Heart Association (SOM, SON)

Carolyn B. Frenkil (SOL, SOM, SON, UMB)

James and Carolyn Frenkil Charitable Foundation (SOL, SOM, SON, UMB)

Richard S. Gordon and Gordon Wolf & Carney, Chartered (in part through cy pres) (SOL)

Institute of Human Virology, Nigeria (SOM)

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (SOL, SOM, SOP, SON, SSW)

Orokawa Foundation (SOM)

Mr.* and Mrs. Hamish Osborne (SOL, SOM)

University of Maryland Faculty Physicians, Inc. (SOM, SON, SSW, UMB)

University of Maryland OB/GYN Associates, P.A. (SOM, UMB)

University of Maryland Pediatric Associates, P.A. (SOM)

$3,000,000 – $4,999,999

Anonymous (2) (SOD, SOL, SOM, SOP, SON, SSW, GS, UMB)

American Cancer Society (SOM, SON)

Peter G. Angelos (SOM)

Peter & Georgia Angelos Foundation (SOM)

Law Offices of Peter Angelos (SOM)

Bien-Air USA (SOD)

Center for Adoption Support and Education (SSW)

The Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Family Foundation (SOM, UMB)

Stewart J. Greenebaum* and Marlene Greenebaum* (SOD, SOM, SOP, UMB)

Michael I. Greenebaum (SOM, UMB)

The Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine (SOM)

Erin Michele Levitas Education Foundation, Inc. (SOL)

Maryland Emergency Medicine Network (SOM)

The Medical Alumni Association of the University of Maryland, Inc. (SOM, UMB)

Nobel BioCare USA, Inc. (SOD)

State of Maryland Department of Housing & Community Development (UMB)

University of Maryland Radiation Oncology Associates, P.A. (SOM)

United Therapeutics Corporation (SOM)

$1,000,000 – $2,999,999

Anonymous (14) (SOD, SOL, SOM, SOP, SON, SSW, GS, UMB)

Dorothy Ann Altwarg (SOL)

American Diabetes Association (SOM)

American Society of Hematology (SOM)

Laura and John Arnold Foundation (SOP)

Gordon M. Bell, DDS, and Holly G. Bell (SOD)

Boston Medical Center (SOM)

Brain and Behavior Research Foundation (SOM)

Michael Brin and Eugenia Brin (SOM)

Broad Institute, Inc. (SOM)

Howard S. Brown (SOM)

Mary Catherine Bunting (SON)

Dorothy L. Campbell* (SOL)

Mary F. Campion (SSW)

David C. Carroll (SOM)

The Annie E. Casey Foundation (SOL, SOM, SSW, GS, UMB)

Catholic Medical Mission Board (SOM)

Joseph Davidson, DDS, and Elly Davidson (SOD)

Family League of Baltimore City (SOM, SSW)

Gilead Sciences, Inc. (SOM)

Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services (SOL)

George E. Groleau, MD, and Deborah F. Groleau (SOM)

Mary Therese Gyi, BSP, PharmD, and Rebecca T. Gyi-Hovis, MD (SOP)

Hearing Health Foundation (SOM)

John W. Heisse Jr., MD* (SOM)

Michael K. Herman (SOD)

J. Laurance Hill, MD*, and Charlotte P. Hill (SOM)

Grace Hofsteter, MD* (SOM)

Independent Dialysis Foundation, Inc. (SOM)

Karen J. Ivers, DDS (SOD)

Alice “Jeannie” Jacobs (SOM)

Johns Hopkins University (SOD, SOM, SOP, SON, SSW, GS, UMB)

The Kahlert Foundation (SOM)

The Zanvyl & Isabelle Krieger Fund (SOM, SSW)

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (SOM)

Mallinckrodt, Inc. (UMB)

Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene (SOM)

Maryland Emergency Medicine Research Foundation, Inc. (SOM)

Medtronic, Inc. (SOM)

Michigan State University (SOM)

Muscular Dystrophy Association, Inc. (SOM)

National Alumni Association (SOD)

National Science Foundation (SOM, SOP, UMB)

Evelyn Norwitz (SON)

Open Society Institute (SOL, SSW, GS)

Robert A. Pascal* (SOM)

Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (SOM, SOP)

Regeneron Corporate Headquarters (SOM)

Maurice N. Reid, MD (SOM, UMB)

Alison Richman, MSW, and Arnold Richman (SOM, SSW, UMB)

Richman Family Foundation, Inc. (SOM, SSW)

Scott Rifkin, MD, and Frances Maizels Rifkin, RN (SOM)

Louis T. Sabatino* (SOM)

Elizabeth Shamburger* (SOM)

Betsy R. Sherman (SOL, SOM, SSW)

Richard H. Sherman, MD*, and Jane Sherman, PhD (SOM)

Sirona Dental Systems (SOD)

Charles Gordon Smith* (SOM)

Frederick G. Smith, DDS, and Venice Paterakis, DDS (SOD, UMB)

Stanley Medical Research Institute (SOM)

Taylor Foundation Incorporated (SOM)

Bruce T. Taylor, MD, and Ellen L. Taylor, MD (SOM)

Irving J. Taylor, MD* (SOM)

Richard L. Taylor, MD, and Kathryn A. Taylor (SOM)

Leonard L. Topper (SOM)

Harvey Topper (SOM)

Elizabeth L. Tso, MD* (SOM)

University of Maryland Anesthesiology Associates, P.A. (SOM)

UMB Health Sciences Research Park Corporation (SSW, UMB)

University of Maryland Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Associates, P.A. (SOD)

University of Maryland Medical System Foundation, Inc. (SOM)

University of Maryland Neurosurgery Associates, P.A. (SOM)

Daniel E. Wagner (SOL, SOM, SON, SOP)

Margaret and Samuel Woodside (SSW)

Hansjörg Wyss (SOM)

Ellen H. Yankellow, PharmD (SOP, UMB)

Philip A. Zaffere Foundation, Inc. (SOM)

Louis and Phyllis Friedman (SOD, SOL, SOM, SON)


**List as of Oct. 1, 2022