New Members for SOL Board of Visitors

June 30, 2015    |  

Maryland Carey Law’s Board of Visitors Elects New Officers and Members

The University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law is honored to announce the election of three new officers and five new members to its Board of Visitors (BOV).  The 42-member Board is charged with advising the dean and University officials on matters affecting the law school.

“I am delighted to welcome these outstanding alumni to their new positions and to the Board,” said Dean Donald B. Tobin. “The Board of Visitors is a vital resource for Maryland Carey Law.  It is deeply gratifying to know that lawyers and judges of this stature are willing to work on behalf of our state’s flagship law school.  Together, we can ensure that Maryland Carey Law continues to provide a superb legal education to our next generation of great lawyers, leaders and thinkers.”

 The new officers of the Board of Visitors are:

  • Chair: Joanne E. Pollak’76, senior vice president, general counsel and chief of staff, Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Vice Chair: Robert J. Kim’83, principal, McNamee, Hosea, Jernigan, Kim, Greenan & Lynch, P.A., Greenbelt and Annapolis, MD
  • Secretary: Dean Pappas’83, vice president, government relations, federal legislative and regulatory affairs, Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company  

The new BOV members are:

  • Paul S. Caiola’95, partner, Gallagher Evelius & Jones, Baltimore, who specializes in complex commercial and real estate litigation.
  • The Honorable Howard Chasanow’61 (Ret.), mediator, JAMS (formerly known as Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Services); Judge Chasanow served on the Maryland Court of Appeals, the state’s highest court.
  • The Honorable Karen Friedman’95, associate judge, Baltimore City Circuit Court, 8th Judicial Circuit.
  • Yitai Hu ’94, partner, Alston & Bird, Silicon Valley, who specializes in international intellectual property litigation.
  • Kimberly Ross ’93, chief of staff/chief counsel, Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH), who has also served as a professional staff member for Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) and for Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD).

“We are also deeply grateful for the long service of members who rotated off this year,” Dean Tobin said.  They include:

  • Christine A. Edwards ’83, a partner at Winston & Strawn, is the immediate past chair of the Board of Visitors.  She served 20 years on the Board, endowed the current Christine A. Edwards Scholarship beginning in 1999, and also served on the University-wide search committee to select Dean Donald Tobin;
  •  Joseph G. Finnerty III ’87, partner, DLA Piper, New York, a major philanthropic supporter of the law school who hosted numerous events for alumni and prospective students at his firm;
  • Thomas Lewis’76, of counsel to Gallagher, Evelius & Jones, Baltimore and former chair of the BOV Planning Committee, tasked with examining the most pressing issues facing the law school;
  • The late Joel D. Fedder ’58, of counsel to Fedder and Garten, Baltimore, who, with his wife, Ellen, created an endowment to support the work of students in the Environmental Law Program.