Best Practices in Assessment Group

The Best Practices in Assessment Group is a discussion group comprised of associate and assistant deans of academic and student affairs from each of the schools which regularly convenes to examine and share best practices in assessment.  The group met informally in 2016 and was formalized subsequent to the Middle States Site Team suggestion received in regards to Standard 7: Institutional Assessment.  The team suggested that UMB have the Associate Deans for Academic Affairs regularly address assessment during their monthly meetings or through the development of an assessment subcommittee to address and share assessment best practices and tools.

Best Practices in Assessment Group Members

Patricia Alvarez, PhD

Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs

Academic Affairs, Campus Life Services


Lynn Chen, PhD

Assistant Professor and Director of Evaluation

School of Nursing


Amy J. Cohen-Callow, PhD MSSW

Clinical Assistant Professor

School of Social Work


Shannan Dixon, MS CGC

Assistant Professor, Pediatrics

Director, Master's in Genetic Counseling Program

School of Medicine


Barbara Gontrum, JD

Associate Dean of Academic and Adminstrative Affairs

Francis King Carey School of Law


Malinda B. Hughes, MA

Chief of Staff, Academic Affairs and the Graduate School


Lisa Lebovitz, JD

Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs & Assessment

School of Pharmacy


Flavius R. W. Lilly, PhD MA MPH

Sr. Associate Dean, Graduate School

Assistant Vice President, Academic and Student Affairs


Mark D. Macek, DDS DrPH

Professor, Dental Public Health

Director, Office of Instructional Evaluation

School of Dentistry


David B. Mallott, MD

Associate Dean for Medical Education

School of Medicine


Karen D. Matthews, MPA

Director, Strategic Planning and Assessment

Office of Institutional Effectiveness, Strategic Planning and Assessment


Sandra A. McCombe Waller, PT PhD MS NCS

Associate Professor and Director of Educational Affairs, Physical Therapy Program

School of Medicine


Tricia D. O'Neill, JD

Assistant Vice President for Special Projects

Office of Operations and Planning


Deirdre D. Parsons, MS MT(ASCP)SBB

Assistant Professor and Program Director

Department of Medical and Research Technology

School of Medicine


Kayatana Smith, MS IT-PM

Senior UNIX System Administrator

Center for Information Technology Services


Gregory C. Spengler, MPA

Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness

Office of Operations and Planning

Meeting Schedule

October 17, 2017

February 6, 2018

TBD October 2018

TBD December 2018