The University of Maryland Baltimore Foundation, Inc. ("UMBF")  Board of Trustees advises the President of the University of Maryland, Baltimore ("UMB") on matters affecting UMB's campus, programs, students, faculty, employees and the community it serves. UMBF promotes UMB through advocacy and the enlisting of financial support and manages and invests gifts and property for the benefit of UMB.

The Foundation's distinguished Board of Trustees advises the University President and operates with the following committees:

  • Executive
  • Governance
  • Finance
  • Audit
  • University Advancement

The Foundation solicits and accepts gifts in accordance with the University System of Maryland Policy on Affiliated Foundations. All gifts, bequests, endowments, and private grants are used in accordance with the directions of the donors.


Michael B. Dowdy, MBA
Chief Development Officer
Vice President of Development
President & CEO, University of Maryland Baltimore Foundation, Inc.

Pam Heckler
Director of Foundation Operations, University of Maryland Baltimore Foundation, Inc.

Board of Trustees

  • The Honorable Janet S. Owens, Chair
    Community activist and former Anne Arundel County Executive

  • Edward J. Brody, Vice Chair
    CEO, Brody Transportation Co., Inc.
  • James A. Earl, PhD, Secretary
    President, Helena Foundation
  • Harold E. Chappelear
    Principal, InternaSource and Vice Chairman, UPM Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

  • Charles W. Cole Jr.
    Retired Chair, Legg Mason Investment Counsel & Trust Co.
  • James A. D’Orta, MD
    Chair, Consumer Health Services, Inc.
  • Morton P. Fisher Jr.
    Partner, Baltimore Office
    Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP
  • Brian J. Gibbons
    Chairman/CEO, Greenberg Gibbons Commercial
  • Joseph R. Hardiman
    Retired President and CEO
    National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc.
  • David H. Hillman
    Southern Management Corporation
  • Sandra S. Hillman
    President, Sandy Hillman Communications
  • Richard J. Himelfarb
    Chairman, Investment Banking
    Stifel Nicolaus Weisel

  • Wallace J. Hoff
    Retired Vice President and General
    Manager, Northrop Grumman
    Aerospace Systems Division
  • Kempton M. Ingersol
    Managing Director and Senior
    Portfolio Manager
    Brown Capital Management, Inc.
  • Donald M. Kirson
    Retired President and CEO
    Kirson Medical Equipment Co.
  • Harry C. Knipp, MD
    Senior Principal and Physician
    Partner, Advanced Radiology
  • Kyle P. Legg
    Chief Executive Officer Emeritus
    Legg Mason Capital Management

  • Thomas P. O’Neill
    Principal, Hertzbach & Company, P.A.
  • Theo C. Rodgers
    President, A & R Development Corp.
  • Donald E. Roland
    Vice Chairman, Whitmore Group
    Vice Chairman, Hess Print Solutions

  • Devy Patterson Russell
    Associate Judge, District Court of Maryland for Baltimore City
  • Alan Silverstone
  • Frederick G. Smith, DDS
    Vice President, Sinclair Broadcast Group, Inc.
  • C. William Struever
    Principal, Cross Street Partners
  • Richard L. Taylor, MD
    President, Taylor Medical Group
  • John C. Weiss III
    Chair, Biotechnical Institute of Maryland, and Co-Chair,
    Entrepreneurship Board, University of Baltimore Merrick School of Business
  • Garland O. Williamson
    CEO and President
    Information Control Systems Corp.
  • William T. Wood Esq.
    Wood Law Offices, LLC


  • Jay A. Perman, MD
    President, University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Michael B. Dowdy, MBA
    Chief Development Officer
    Vice President of Development
    President & CEO
    UMBF, Inc.
  • Pam Heckler
    Director of Foundation Operations
    UMBF, Inc.

Giving to UMB
Make a gift online