2020 Core Values Award Winners

To celebrate and promote the University of Maryland, Baltimore’s (UMB) core values, the University launched this year the Presidential Core Values Awards, designed to recognize students, faculty, and staff who embody the seven values at the heart of UMB’s mission: accountability, civility, collaboration, diversity, excellence, knowledge, and leadership.

“Despite the upheaval brought on by COVID-19, UMB’s core values are more important now than ever,” says UMB President Bruce E. Jarrell, MD, FACS. “Crises like this one test our ability to stay true to our values — and yet provide us with an opportunity to use those core values in our new path forward.”

President's Core Values Awards



Award Winner: Payroll Team, Financial Services

Honorable Mention: Climate Change Workgroup, School of Nursing; Neal Gallico, School of Social Work; Jamie Hoots, School of Pharmacy; Lee Westgate, MSW, MBA, School of Social Work.

Read about the Accountability Award Winner



Award Winner: Al EssienAssociate Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations, UMB

Honorable Mention: Fadia Shaya, PhD, MPH, School of Pharmacy; Lei Zhang, PhD, School of Medicine.

Read about the Civility Award Winner



Award Winner: Rose M. Viscardi, MD, Professor of Pediatrics and Director, Joint Departmental Faculty Academic Career Development Program, School of Medicine

Honorable Mention: Health Sciences and Human Services Library; Stephanie Malchine, Francis King Carey School of Law.

Read about the Collaboration Award Winner



Award Winner: Elizabeth Alston Ottey, DDS, MHS, Third-Year Resident, School of Dentistry

Honorable Mention: Health Sciences and Human Services Library ClimateQUAL Task Force and Values Task Force; Sandra Quezada, MD, MS, School of Medicine.

Read about the Diversity Award Winner



Award Winner: Kathleen Hoke, JD, Professor and Director, Legal Resource Center for Public Health Policy, Francis King Carey School of Law

Honorable Mention: Bill Crowley, Facilities and Operations; Yan Sun, PhD, MBA, School of Medicine.

Read about the Excellence Award Winner



Award Winner: Joe Evans, Assistant Vice President, Strategic Sourcing and Acquisition Services, UMB

Honorable Mention: Asaf Keller, PhD, School of Medicine.

Read about the Knowledge Award Winner



Award Winner: Kaitlyn Holzer, Third-Year Student, Francis King Carey School of Law

Honorable Mention: Kevin Curley, MBA, Financial Systems, and Diane Faranetta, Center for Information Technology Services; Kimberly Lumpkins, MD, School of Medicine.

Read about the Leadership Award Winner