2021 Core Values Award Winners

To celebrate and promote the University of Maryland, Baltimore’s (UMB) core values, the University gives out Presidential Core Values Awards, which are designed to recognize students, faculty, and staff who embody the seven values at the heart of UMB’s mission: accountability, civility, collaboration, diversity, excellence, knowledge, and leadership.

The Core Values Awards were inaugurated in 2020; see below for the 2021 winners.


President's Core Values Awards



Award Winner: Charles Schelle
Senior Media Relations Specialist
Office of Communications and Public Affairs, UMB

Honorable Mention: Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, School of Medicine

Read about the Accountability Award Winner



Award Winner: Violeta Rus, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Medicine
School of Medicine

Honorable Mention: Mary Therese Phelan, Communications and Public Affairs, UMB

Read about the Civility Award Winner




Award Winner: Joint Vaccination Site Team
UMB, University of Maryland Medical Center, Faculty Physicians, Inc.

Honorable Mention: TaShara Bailey, PhD, CURE Scholars Program, UMB; Council for the Arts & Culture members, UMB

Read about the Collaboration Award Winners




Award Winner: “A Brief History of Oppression and Resistance” Course Team
School of Social Work

Honorable Mention: Eseosa Fernandes, MD, MPH, School of Medicine; Diane Marie St. George, PhD, School of Medicine

Read about the Diversity Award Winners



Award Winner: Intercultural Leadership and Engagement
Student Affairs, UMB

Honorable Mention: Erik Nielsen, Communications and Public Affairs, UMB; Michele Ondra, MBA, MS, Francis King Carey School of Law; Bill Crockett, MS, RCRSP, Student Affairs, UMB

Read about the Excellence Award Winners




Award Winner: Abree Johnson, MS, MBA
Director, Pharmaceutical Research Computing

School of Pharmacy

Honorable Mention: Steve Deck, DM, MBA, Environmental Health and Safety, UMB; David Ingle, MBA, School of Medicine

Read about the Knowledge Award Winner




Award Winner: Nivedita Hegdekar
Graduate School and Francis King Carey School of Law

Honorable Mention: Robyn Palmeiro, LCSW-C, School of Medicine; Thomas Leone, UMB Police Department

Read about the Leadership Award Winner