Who We Are

Goals for 2015-2016

  • Develop a resource library for DAC website.
  • Identify three to four speakers for campuswide diversity symposia.
  • Develop a statement on cultural competence.
  • Conduct a campuswide climate survey.
  • Revise DAC bylaws.
  • Create the postdoctoral diversity fellow job description.
  • Recruit and hire a postdoctoral diversity fellow.


  • Obtained commitment across all schools on campus, as well as representation from faculty, staff, students, and postdoctoral fellows, to participate in DAC.
  • Hosted diversity event with Verna Meyers.
  • Identified speaker for Martin Luther King Jr. (MLK)/Black History Month event Feb. 2, 2016.
  • Created three standing committees.
  • Presented short list of nominees for 2016 MLK diversity awards to Dr. Perman for final selection.
  • Streamlined the MLK award nomination process.
  • Sponsored event at campus open house for admissions.
  • Created postdoctoral diversity fellow position.
  • Hired postdoctoral diversity fellow.

Statement on Cultural Competence

The University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) is committed and pledges to embrace cultural competence at all organizational levels and programs to improve outcomes for students, faculty, staff, and the community at large. “Cultural competence responds respectfully and effectively to all people in a manner that recognizes, affirms, and values the worth of individuals, families, and communities and protects and preserves the dignity of each (all).”[1] The University will develop policies and engage in education, scholarship, and service delivery that promote and support cultural knowledge, skills, and attitudes. Together as a university community we commit to self-assessing and strengthening our own cultural competence by creating a climate that celebrates diversity and inclusion.

We propose that as a university we engage in the following activities to be able to implement this statement and achieve its purpose and outcomes:

  1. Develop a process to engage each school at the leadership level and as a whole to design a plan for the implementation and execution of this statement within their respective schools.
  2. Guide the Center for Interprofessional Education to develop IPE experiences for students of all schools in the area of cultural competence.
  3. Create a clear message to the University community about this statement and the expectations for each member of the organization.

[1] This is the definition of cultural competence by the National Association of Social Work’s (NASW) National Committee (2001) and endorsed by the NASW standards of “cultural competence” in social work practice with some small modifications.