Standing Committees

Standing Committees

Anti-racism Action Committee
The Anti-racism Action Committee, which consists of members of the Diversity Advisory Committee and representatives across campus, is responsible for providing strategies that can be utilized by the University of Maryland, Baltimore to take a proactive stance against racism and other forms of oppression.


Cherita Adams (co-chair)
Patty Alvarez
Jeffrey Ash
Aaron Betsinger
Shara Boonshaft
Edress P. Brunson
Neijma Celestine-Donnor
Juliet Dickerson
Seante Hatcher
Patricia Hoffmann
Courtney Jones Carney (co-chair)
Laura Kozak
Kay Lewis
Kyla Liggett-Creel (co-chair)
Elisa Medina
Sandra Quezada
Tyrone Roper

Communications and Marketing
The Communications and Marketing Committee is responsible for the dissemination and publication of DAC services, initiatives, and innovations to membership and the UMB community.

The committee will focus on all forms of messaging to provide a comprehensive diversity marketing plan detailing strategic themes and major accomplishments. We will work with the Office of Communications and Public Affairs to disseminate our messages.


Jeffrey Ash
TaShara Bailey
Paulette Harris-Gross
Courtney Jones Carney (chair)
Laura Kozak (co-chair)
Jill Morgan
Gabrielle Ricks
Elsie Stines



  • Share evidence-based best practices that support diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives.
  • Increase recognition and appreciation of the value that diversity and inclusion brings to the UMB community.
  • Share learning opportunities and resources that increase knowledge of diversity and inclusion.
  • Promote continuous improvement of an inclusive campus culture.
  • Identify and develop the brand messaging and themes to use in marketing to various constituencies on campus.
  • Create a marketing plan and budget for the upcoming fiscal year.
  • Collaborate with communications and public affairs office to create and disseminate materials.
  • Provide semi-annual reports on DAC activities.
  • Maintain and update DAC website.
  • Submit diversity, equity, and inclusion content on The Elm.

DEI Resources
The DEI Resources Committee is responsible for identifying, reviewing, cataloging, publicizing, and maintaining a collection of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) resources.


Qoot Alkhubaizi
Gregory Brightbill
Neijma Celestine-Donner
Shani Fleming (chair)
Paulette Harris-Gross 
Fiama Romero
Nia Speaks



  • Compile internal and external information about DEI resources for the UMB community.
  • Create and maintain an inventory of existing diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts on UMB's campus.
  • Maintain the resources section of DAC's website.
  • Provide semi-annual and annual reports (July and Janaury).


Education and Awareness
The Education and Awareness Committee is responsible for providing leadership in advancing learning and scholarship to build and sustain a diverse community and culture of inclusion.


TaShara Bailey
Sheila Blackshear
Courtney Jones Carney
Sheila Blackshear
Vanessa Fahie (chair)
Russell McClain
Andrea Morgan
Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner


  • Facilitate cross-communication of diversity- and inclusion-related activities, programs, and initiatives occurring within UMB schools and departments.
  • Recommend initiatives that promote diversity, inclusion, and cultural competency throughout UMB.
  • Recommend programs that prepare faculty and staff to incorporate cultural competency into the professional and learning environments.
  • Promote interdisciplinary programs to help build cultural competence among students in the health, legal, and human services professions.
  • Provide resources and strategies to actively recruit and retain excellent, qualified, diverse staff, faculty, and students including launching specialized programs and honor societies (e.g., Edward Alexander Bouchet Graduate Honor Society)
  • Create and compile city information about resources for diverse campus populations, particularly for new hires.
  • Provide semi-annual reports.