Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner

Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner, PharmD, BCPS, CDE, FAPhA, is professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science and professor at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy.

She earned her Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) at the University of Maryland and completed a clinical residency at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Baltimore. She is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist (BCPS) and Certified Diabetes Educator (CDE), as well as a consultant at the Veterans Affairs Hospital in Baltimore. 

Currently, Rodriguez de Bittner is the director and principal investigator of a number of public and private contracts through the P3 Program — a patient-centered comprehensive medication therapy and chronic disease management program provided by pharmacists throughout the Mid-Atlantic region. This program is in partnership with the Maryland Pharmacists Association, Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Centers for Disease Control, the Maryland Legislature, and the Maryland and Virginia Business Coalitions.

As executive director of the Center for Innovative Pharmacy Solutions, she engages in legislative advocacy and state and national leadership that has helped to expand the role of pharmacists in chronic disease management, point of service laboratory testing, and collaborative practice models. In June 2010, CIPS convened the National Leadership Roundtable, “The Prescription for Health Care Reform: Where are the Pharmacists?” and produced a White Paper outlining the role of the pharmacists in health care reform. She is an innovator who has implemented many new health care delivery models, particularly in community pharmacies, including the ADA-recognized Giant Diabetes Education and Management Program. She has received many grants and contracts to develop innovative programs from various agencies and foundations.  

Rodriguez de Bittner is a member of the Maryland Health Care Reform Council Health Care Delivery Reform Subcommittee, a member of a subcommittee of the Maryland Patient-Centered Medical Home pilot, past president of the Maryland Pharmacists Association (MPhA), past board member and president of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation Board of Directors, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy representative to the Executive Committee of the Pan-American Conferences on Pharmaceutical Education, and member of the Pan-American Commission for Pharmaceutical Education. She has provided presentations and authored/co-authored several publications.

She has received numerous awards, including: being chosen as a 2014 Daily Record Innovator of the Year; the 2013 University of Maryland, Baltimore’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award; the 2013 Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award; 2010 Pinnacle Award; 2007 APhA Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award; Distinguished Achievement in Pharmacotherapeutic Practice Award in 2006; LKS/Merck Vanguard Leadership Award 2005; AACP Leadership Fellow 2005; Bowl of Hygeia 2005; APhA Fellow 2003; the 2001 APhA Merit Award; the 1999 Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award by MPhA; Baltimore Magazine's 1999 Best of Baltimore Pharmacist of the Year (the first time a pharmacist was recognized by the magazine); and the Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management Presentation Merit Award in 1998.