Honorees and Student Speaker

The University of Maryland, Baltimore congratulates its inaugural President’s Distinguished Gold Medal recipient and 2023 honorary degree recipients, honorary marshals, and student speaker. Read about them below.

President’s Distinguished Gold Medal Recipient

President’s Distinguished Gold Medal Recipient - Norman R. Augustine
Norman R. Augustine, MSE

Former Chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corp.

Honorary Degree Recipients

Honorary Doctor of Science - Martha Somerman
Martha Somerman, DDS, PhD – Honorary Doctor of Science

Former Director, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research

Honorary Marshals

Honorary University Marshal - MJ Tooey
M.J. Tooey, MLS, AHIP, FMLA - Honorary University Marshal

Former Associate Vice Provost and Dean, Health Sciences and Human Services Library

Honorary Faculty Marshal - Erika Friedmann
Erika Friedmann, PhD – Honorary Faculty Marshal

Professor and Associate Dean for Research, School of Nursing

Honorary Student Marshal - Raymond Love
Raymond C. Love, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP – Honorary Student Marshal

Professor and Vice Chair of Collaborative Initiatives, School of Pharmacy

Honorary Staff Marshal - Susan McKechnie
Susan McKechnie, CPA - Honorary Staff Marshal

Former Assistant Vice President for Financial Services and University Controller

Student Speaker