Natalie D. Eddington, PhD, FAAPS, FCP

Natalie D. Eddington, PhD, FAAPS, FCP
Dean of the School of Pharmacy

Natalie D. Eddington became dean of the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy in August 2007. Eddington, an alumna of the School, was formerly chair of its Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Eddington graduated summa cum laude with a BS in pharmacy in 1982 from Howard University. She earned her PhD from the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy in 1989 and, after working as assistant director of new drug development at Pfizer Inc., joined the faculty in 1991. She was appointed director of the School of Pharmacy’s Pharmacokinetics/Biopharmaceutics Laboratory in 1999, and became chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2003. As chair, she guided the launch of the Center for Nanomedicine and Cellular Delivery, which brings together a collection of scientists to find new and better ways of providing pharmaceutical treatment. It is the School of Pharmacy’s first Organized Research Center.

Eddington is a nationally known expert in drug delivery and pharmacokinetics, the movement of drugs in the body. Her research focuses on cancer therapy and treatments for disorders of the central nervous system. Her work has been supported by funding from the National Cancer Institute, the National Institute of Mental Health, the National Institute on Drug Abuse, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, and the pharmaceutical industry.  

In 2014, she was named executive director of University Regional Partnerships at the University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB), a position she assumes while maintaining her leadership of the School of Pharmacy. In this role, Eddington assists UMB’s senior vice presidents, working collaboratively with the deans, on issues related to the expansion of the University's academic and research programs in Montgomery and Prince George's counties.  

Her honors and awards include:

  • Named chair-elect of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s Council of Deans for 2015
  • Named to the Board of Directors of the Monarch Academy, a public charter school in Baltimore City, in 2014
  • Named chair of the Research and Graduate Affairs Committee of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in 2014
  • Named chair of the Board of Directors of the National Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Education in 2012
  • Named a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology in 2011
  • Named a Fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists in 2011
  • Received a Special Leader Award from the YWCA Greater Baltimore in 2011
  • Named Distinguished Alumnus of the Year by the Howard University School of Pharmacy in 2011
  • Named the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Council of Deans Representative to the Administrative Board in January 2011
  • Named one of Maryland’s Top 100 Women in 2010 by the Daily Record newspaper
  • Election in 2010 to the position of secretary of the Board of Directors of the National Institute of Pharmaceutical Technology and Education
  • Appointment by Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley to the state’s Federal Facilities Advisory Board in 2010
  • Participation in the Leadership Maryland Class of 2009
  • A “National Women of Color All Star Award” in 2006 from the National Women of Color in Technology Conference
  • A “Mentor Recognition Award” from the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society in 2005
  • The “Outstanding Service as an External Scientific Advisory Committee Member Service Award” from the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University Minority Biomedical Research Support Program in 2004 

Back to Deans