Staff Senate @ UMB

Senate Committees

The Executive Committee of the Staff Senate manages and oversees the Staff Senate.

The Staff Senate is always looking for volunteers to serve and assist on our various sub-committees. You do not need to be a Staff Senator to participate.

University Life

This committee addresses issues that directly affect Staff and their day to day life here at this University.  They have and continue to address issues such as affordable daycare, leave donation, seniority issues, time keeping, Staff recognition and anything that affects Staff morale here at UMB.
Members: Nancy Bowers, Kimberly Curry,  Libre' Jones, Danielle Brown, Ken Fahnestock, Bill Crockett, Phyllis Lovito, Kiscia Cannon


The communications committee creates and maintains communication of Staff Senate presence, involvement, and opportunities to staff; works to establish and increase awareness of the Staff Senate's role to speak out for and impact staff-related concerns and issues.

Chair: Yimei Wu
Members: Ken Fahnestock, Tom McHugh, Amshu Siddalingaswamy, Carol McKissick, Tony Brown, Amshu Siddalingaswamy

Community Outreach

The Community Outreach Committee is responsible for coordinating various volunteer activities throughout our campus community.  These activities include food and clothing drives and other activities.  Recent outreach activities include: Cell Phones for Soldiers, Susan G. Koman Yoplait Lid Collection; collaborating with Ronald McDonald House and the Veterans Administration Medical Center; and collecting school supplies for local schools.  Our goal for this committee is to improve the welfare of individuals in the local Baltimore community.

Chair: Jean Marie Roth
Members: Jennifer Aumiller, Colette Becker, Kristy Nichols, Bill Crockett, Dawn Flair, Mary Jo Pohlner, Bernadette Taylor


The legislative committee monitors and reviews introduced legislation that may have an impact on higher education and the employees who work in the University environment. Funding for higher Ed is always a priority, however, we also review and monitor legislation that may affect the pay and benefits of our employees. We then pass the information along to our constituents to keep them informed during the legislative session/ while at the same time reviewing options and seeking solutions, if warranted, to any troublesome legislation introduced during the session.

Co-Chairs: Dave Delooze and Roy Ross
Members: Mary Jo Pohlner, Bill Crockett, Kristie Nichols, Jennifer Aumiller

BOR /CUSS Staff Awards
Works with the President's office to nominate and review all nominations for Board of Regents Staff Awards from UMB
Chair: Dawn Flair
Members: Colette Becker, Danielle Brown, Nancy Bowers, Anthony Brown

Campus Committee Appointments -

Members of the Staff Senate have been appointed by the Senate to the following committees:

CUSS – A Council of University System Staff (CUSS) representative will be appointed each session of the Staff Senate or approximately once a year. The mission of the Council of University System Staff is to provide a voice for Staff employee concerns in reference to basic decisions that affect the welfare of the University System of Maryland, its constituent institutions, and its employees. CUSS functions in an informed advisory role in administrative areas and in the functional support aspects of academic matters.
Representatives:  Nancy Bowers (CUSS Secretary), Gynene Sullivan (CUSS Chair), Roy Ross - Primary Members
Dave DeLooze, Bill Crockett, Carol McKissick - Alternates

IT Steering Committee – An appointed member of the Staff Senate may sit in on the IT Steering Committee and bring information back to the Senators. This appointment serves as a communication channel between the IT Steering Committee and the Staff Senate.
Representative: Tom McHugh and Ken Fahnestock

Parking Committee – An appointed member of the Staff Senate may sit in on the Parking Committee and bring information back to the Senators. This appointment serves as a communication channel between the Parking Committee and the Staff Senate.
Representatives: Bill Hoffman and Bernadette Taylor

President's Outreach Council - An appointed member of the Staff Senate may sit on the President's Outreach Council to provide enriched educational, health, and career experiences and opportunities for community children through a coordinated partnership of UMB with local community schools.  The Council is expected to foster more interdisciplinary collaboration in outreach efforts to strengthen the social impact of UMB in the local community, create many enduring positive relationships, and engender future Maryland leaders. 
Representatives:  Phyllis Lovito

Safety Awareness Committee – An appointed Senator participates in the Safety Awareness Committee and may be asked to contribute recommendations or comments as a Senator.
Representatives: Bernadette Taylor and Kimberly Curry

University Events Committee – An appointed Senator will participate as a committee member of the Special Events Committee to assist in the planning and promotion of campus events.
Representatives:  Kimberly Curry and Ken Fahnestock

Sustainability Committee - The University of Maryland Baltimore recognizes its responsibility to a sustainable future and is dedicated to working diligently to that end. It is our commitment that the built environment of the University will have the lowest impact on the natural environment of any comparable university. We are committed to working toward best-in-class sustainable facilities operations. Our goals include:

·         The lowest energy consumption rate (Btu / square foot) among comparable institutions.

·         Solid waste recycling rates that are double any legislative mandate.

·         Achieving LEED Certified status for all occupied campus facilities.

Representatives - Bernadette Taylor and Carol McKissick

Work Life Strategies Committee -  provides resources for staff and faculty who seek assistance with career or life transitions associated with managing their complex personal and professional lives.  The University of Maryland believes that assisting with identifying the options associated with changes will increase an individual’s work satisfaction, work environment, productivity and personal development. This program is based on the belief that employees have primary responsibility for personal decisions and the University of Maryland has primary responsibility for making resources accessible to interested and motivated employees.
Representative: Ken Fahnestock and Danielle Brown