The University's Staff Senate serves as an advisor and a channel of communication to the President and the President's cabinet in the areas of policy and procedures which affect the quality of the staff's work life and their level of contribution to the strategic goals of the campus. The Staff Senate was begun in 1994 and since has researched many areas of concern for the staff members.

Topics of investigation and action include, but are not limited to policies and procedures affecting eligible employees, work environment and staff morale, issues impacting wages, benefits and working conditions and Community/Outreach activities.

The body of the Staff Senate consists of 20 staff members, Sixteen (16) members from the exempt staff category and four (4) members from the excluded non-exempt staff category.

Each Senator serves a two (2) year term. Three officers are elected from the Senate body to the Executive Committee to fill the positions of Chair, Vice Chair Secretary and Member at Large. The final seat on the Executive Committee of the Staff Senate is the Past Chair, which is filled by the individual who served as Chair during the previous Senate term. The Senate is also responsible for filling the three representative seats for the University on CUSS (Council of University System Staff). The Staff Senate has formed sub-committees on Policy, By-laws, Legislative Issues, Nominations and Elections, Community Outreach and Communications.