Center for Information Technology Services

Meridius Update - New Features

The Meridius systems have been updated. The web page the users view when clicking on the link with in the quarantine digest message sent nightly has changed. The basic functions are still there, but there are some added features. Here are the functions of the buttons:

Release: Same as before, any mail checked will be released and forwarded to the user’s inbox.

Whitelist & Release: Will whitelist the senders email address of any emails checked and forward the mail to the user’s inbox. White listing adds the senders email address to a local list. This list is checked when mail is being scanned, any email addresses found on the white list will not be quarantined and will be delivered to the user's inbox as normal.

Delete: Same as before, any mail checked will be deleted. Mail deleted is now moved to a Deleted box and will be cleaned out nightly around 2:30am. This gives the user a chance to retrieve email that might have mistakenly been deleted. To retrieve email that has been deleted, Click on the "Deleted Items" tab in the upper left hand side of the Quarantine web page. Here you find all the email that has been deleted since 2:30am. Click the check box next to the email you wish to retrieve and click "Release" to send it to your inbox or click "Whitelist & Release" to Whitelist and send the message to your inbox.

Empty: will empty and delete ALL mail with in the quarantine box. Mail emptied is now moved to a Deleted box and will be cleaned out nightly around 2:30am. This gives the user a chance to retrieve email that might have mistakenly been deleted. To retrieve email that has been deleted, Click on the "Deleted Items" tab in the upper left hand side of the Quarantine web page. Here you find all the email that has been deleted since 2:30am. Click the check box next to the email you wish to retrieve and click "Release" to send it to your inbox or click "Whitelist & Release" to Whitelist and send the message to your inbox.

 

The TABS are:

Quarantine: This is the main mail quarantine

***** Users can now retrieve deleted email!!!!!*****

Deleted Items: This is where email goes when the user deletes or empties mail from their quarantine. Users now have the opportunity to retrieve mail that has been deleted up until the next morning at 2:30am. To retrieve email that has been deleted, click on the "Deleted Items" tab in the upper left hand side of the Quarantine web page. Here you find all the email that has been deleted since 2:30am. Click the check box next to the email you wish to retrieve and click "Release" to send it to your inbox or click "Whitelist & Release" to Whitelist and send the message to your inbox.


***** Users can now retrieve deleted email!!!!!*****


Whitelist: This is the user’s white lists that have been saved when they click Whitelist & Release. This is where they can view and edit email addresses on their list. You can also manually add email addresses to your white list by typing the address in the box in the upper left hand corner and click add (i.e. single user address johndoe@somewhere.com or you can add domains like @hotmail.com)

Preferences: Although the users are able to click on it, it isn’t used at this time.

 

On any page the user can click the “? Help” at the top of the page to learn more about the functions of the current page they are on.


If you have any questions please contact the ASC Helpdesk at help@umaryland.edu.