Center for Information Technology Services

WIRELESS TECHNOLOGY ADVISORY GROUP

Name

School/Dept.

E-mail

Phone

Tim Munn, chairman

Pharmacy

tmunn@rx.umaryland.edu

6-8398

Cory Gekoski

CITS

cgeko001@umaryland.edu

6-7595

Kevin Brown

Medicine

kbrown@clc.umaryland.edu

6-6613

Mark Donohue

UMMS

mdonohue@umm.edu

8-8857

Douglas Engel

Nursing

dengel@son.umaryland.edu

6-1921

Roger Falsis

Nursing

falsis@son.umaryland.edu

6-0658

Sandra Galvez

HS/HSL

sgalvez@hshsl.umaryland.edu

6-2448

Larry Gonzales

Pharmacy

lgonzale@rx.umaryland.edu

6-8317

Mike Jewell

Law

mjewell@law.umaryland.edu

6-5771

Liz Kisser

CITS

lkisser@umaryland.edu

6-4479

Matt Kramer

UPI

mkramer@upi.umaryland.edu

8-8442

Steve Marshall

UPI

smarshall@upi.umaryland.edu

8-3946

Paul Petroski

CITS

ppetrosk@umaryland.edu

6-8338

David Pitts

Social Work

dpitts@ssw.umaryland.edu

6-3619

Rob Renew

UMMS

rrenew@umm.edu

8-3081

Lisa Rogers

HS/HSL

erogers@hshsl.umaryland.edu

6-7161

Matthew Swomley

EHS

mswomley@ehs.umaryland.edu

6-3490

In addition to the campus-wide IT committees, there are three important advisory groups, and they are:  the Wireless Technology Advisory Group; Portal Advisory Group; and the Directory Services Advisory Group.  These advisory groups have specific charges that have been given to them by the IT Leadership.  These groups meet as needed in order to complete the charges and make recommendations to the IT Leaders.  These groups have been successful in providing common solutions for the benefit of all UM organizations.  For UM, the collaborative solutions model has spawned excitement since it has facilitated the completion of many important strategic initiatives. 

In 2005, the Wireless Computing committee will undertake research and invite individuals from similar institutions to UM for conversations and presentations regarding their wireless implementations.  They will determine how these institutions have implemented ubiquitous wireless Internet access (without authenticating) to students, etc. across the enterprise.  They will also explore the implementation of wireless connectivity and access to the Internet in public/open areas in and around UM.

The Wireless Computing committee is also charged to invite vendors to UM for demonstrations/presentations regarding their wireless products, explore solutions and make recommendations for solving the universal authentication issue.

By Fall 2005, the Wireless Computing committee will make a recommendation for solving the “who owns,” and “who manages” dilemma.