Jane M. Kirschling, PhD, RN, FAAN

Dean KirschlingJane M. Kirschling, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dean of the School of Nursing

Following more than six years of outstanding leadership as dean and professor at the University of Kentucky College of Nursing, Jane Kirschling was appointed the sixth dean of the University of Maryland (UM) School of Nursing, effective Jan. 1, 2013. Prior to her tenure at the University of Kentucky (UK), Kirschling held administrative and faculty positions at the University of Southern Maine (dean and professor, College of Nursing and Health Professions), the University of Rochester (associate dean for academic affairs and professor, School of Nursing), and the Oregon Health & Science University (associate dean for graduate studies and professor).

At UK, Kirschling oversaw a robust clinical research enterprise. Her clinical expertise is in mental health nursing with a focus on end-of-life care. For more than a decade, Kirschling's scholarship has focused on workforce development with a special emphasis on rural states.

She will bolster both of these areas at the UM School of Nursing, where she will strengthen the nursing programs at the Universities at Shady Grove, and further develop the School's research enterprise, particularly as it relates to the national focus on health reform. Her expertise on statewide and rural issues will effect change in Maryland. And her experience on UK’s Center for Interprofessional HealthCare Education, Research and Practice Board of Directors will serve her well at the University of Maryland, where Kirschling also will serve as university director of interprofessional education.

Kirschling’s accomplishments include:

  • Initiating a program at UK that sustained support for senior investigators while investing in the development of junior scientists with time for research and significant startup support for pilot work
  • Leading the redesign of the UK College of Nursing's research infrastructure support to enhance investigators' ability to focus on their science in writing grants
  • Founding the Kentucky Nursing Capacity Consortium
  • Co-convening Kentucky's Action Coalition, which is working to implement the Institute of Medicine's 2010 recommendations on the "Future of Nursing"
  • Focusing earlier in her career on family caregivers for persons with a terminal illness and grief following the loss of a family member

A nationally esteemed innovator like her UM predecessor Janet D. Allan, PhD, RN, FAAN, Kirschling’s leadership positions include:

  • President, American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) (2012-2014)
  • Member, AACN Board of Directors (since 2004)
  • Former AACN representative to the American Nurses Association Congress on Nursing Practice (2006-2010)
  • Former co-chair, Sigma Theta Tau International—The Honor Society of Nursing International Advisory Council of Chief Nursing Officers and Deans (2007-2009)
  • Former president, Board of Directors, Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association (2002-2003)
  • Alumna, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Executive Fellows Program (2000-2003)

She has received numerous awards, includingthe Beth Wessinger Award from the Oregon Hospice Association (1995), the OMNE Leadership Achievement Award from the OMNE Nursing Leaders of Maine (2003), the Agnes E. Flaherty Leadership Award from the American Nurses Association-Maine (2006), induction in the American Academy of Nursing (2009), co-recipient of the Kentucky Nurses Association’s Nurse of the Year Award (2010), and the Kentucky Nurse Practitioner Advocate of the Year (2011).

Back to Deans